Some perspective on a “bad day”

Yesterday I was discouraged. I was sad and I was starting to feel sorry for myself. It wouldn’t be appropriate to share here but I received some news that was really painful for me to process and understand. I was mopey and I didn’t feel like trying to cheer up. I didn’t want to clean house or care for the kids. I just wanted to be alone and mope really. I thought to myself that I would somehow have to find a way to make it through several bad days before I started to get over it. Have you ever felt like that?

I opened up the book I’m reading “Happiness” by Randy Alcorn and read these words on page 378-

THE CONTRAST BETWEEN WHAT WE DESERVE AND WHAT GOD GIVES IS DRAMATIC AND HAPPY-MAKING.

Jesus said to his disciples, “When you do all the things which are commanded you, say, ‘We are unworthy slaves; we have done only that which we ought to have done” (Luke 17:10, NASB). He’s saying, in effect, “Lower your sense of what you deserve.”
God told Adam and Eve what would happen to them when they turned from him and chose sin: “You will surely die” (Genesis 2:17, NASB). Based on that text alone, all we deserve and should expect is death. Only when we acknowledge this can we rejoice in the promises of life in Jesus, who said, “I am the resurrection and the life” (John 11:25)
If we realize we’re utterly undeserving, suddenly the world comes alive. Of course life under the Curse is hard! (That’s why it’s called the Curse!) Instead of whining about everything that goes wrong, we’re thrilled at God’s many kindnesses, and our hearts overflow with thanks that we who deserve nothing but judgment, death, and Hell are given deliverance, grace, and eternal life. Day after day, God favors us not only with leniency but also with beauties, delights, and privileges we have no right to expect.
People who receive a paycheck for services rendered can’t be as grateful as those who are given a pardon that know they don’t merit. Jesus said of the woman who gratefully poured oil on his feet, “Her sins, which are many, are forgiven- for she loved much. But he who is forgiven little, loves little” (Luke 7:47).
Doesn’t knowing that you deserve eternal Hell but instead will live in Heaven, in unending happiness, put any “bad day” in perspective?

This edification from a brother in the Lord through his writing was exactly what my soul needed at that moment. A moment of being reminded of the horrors of hell and remembering that I should be there but I am not is cause for being happy! Happy because I know I deserve to be there, as my sin has made me a rebel against a holy God but God made a way of escape for me!

I thought about how every breath I breathe on this earth is an undeserved gift from God. I should not be enjoying the gift of life right now, I don’t deserve it! But God in His mercy bought my soul with the blood of His very own Son. Everything good in life really is a marvelous gift all over again when I readjust my googles of perspective through the big picture of scripture.

After reading that last night, my salty sweet buttery spaghetti squash tasted better. I mentally contrasted in my mind what I deserve- hell- to what I was experiencing. Dinner around a table clasping hands with people I love praying to a God that provided a way for me to talk to Him. Instead of the hell I deserve I slept in a soft bed in a safe home and awoke to another day of God gifting me life and breath.

I’m thankful today and I’m happy because I have been given both grace and compassion from God Who I have sinned against. A few weeks back a man in our church said, “Compassion is like sparing the rod and grace is giving us better than we deserve.” So rejoice today Christian that you are an heir of God, free from sin, walking in the light and life of Jesus free from condemnation! Let that truth seek deep into your spirit and revive you and make you to sing joyous praise to our God!

Psalm 136:1 “O give thanks unto the LORD; fo the is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.”

Leave a Reply

