This is my 200th post!

Wow! That’s hard to believe! Life has changed so much since I started this blog and it’s really neat to get to click through each month for the last few years and see what was going on at that time. This blog is constantly evolving and I’m thankful for those who read and comment for coming along for the ride with me. This is my little corner of the internet where I pour out my creativity, track my goals, share about my relationship with God and the day to day details of our lives. It’s where I often process my emotions, explore new topics and share news. Writing over the last few years has grown me as a person in a lot of ways. It’s made me a more mindful person and has helped me to live my life more deliberately. It has given me an outlet to organize my thoughts. Blogging has helped me through seasons of depression. It helps me to get out of my own mind when I’m stuck there and put my thoughts onto “paper” and get them out. Every time I see a post has been read I feel a connection to whoever that unknown reader may be and I’m reminded that I’m being heard and I’m not alone. So, thank you for being there for me. I hope as time goes by my words can be ones that edify and that this can be a place where you come to get encouraged and refreshed. In the future, if there is a topic you’d like me to write about, leave a comment and I’ll see what I can do.

I got on here tonight to continue my “journaling” of our lives lately. I didn’t even know this was going to be my 200th post until I saw the stats informing me.

This morning my Bible reading time was longer than usual as my Bible reading plan included four chapters. I read about Ezekiel’s wife dying and it really grabbed my attention because I don’t remember ever reading it before. Ezekiel’s total trust in God and his immediate, uncomplaining, unwavering obedience and devotion to God left me kind of dumbfounded. I prayed God would help me trust and obey Him like Ezekiel. I was also reading about the destruction of Tyrus. I spent a little bit of time reading through Matthew Henry’s commentary trying to get a grasp on the connection between the prince of Tyrus and Lucifer.

After reading I just had time for a quick shower before the kids woke up early. They wanted to go outside and wait for daddy to come home and it was kind of funny that we were in the same spots when he came home as when he left.

Thursday is my town day and I like to leave early in the morning while every one is still fresh and the kids bellies are full from breakfast. I unloaded the dishwasher, spent no more than 5 minutes cleaning out the fridge so it would be ready to put groceries in when we got back and got me and the kids ready to go.

E was invited to one of her friends birthday parties this weekend and it’s going to be a costume party so we first went to T.J Maxx and I let her pick out a costume. It’s a blue and black sparkly butterfly costume with enormous wings and a face mask. She loves it! We went to a couple more stores picking out a gift and wrapping for another party she’s going to later on. (Yes, her social life is much more interesting than my own!)

We went grocery shopping for the week at Kroger. The kids have their routine down when we go there. They want to ride in a car cart and get a free cookie from the deli. They get so excited about going to kroger! We got home around 11:00 and I unloaded the groceries and fixed some macaroni and cheese. (hear me being all southern? fixed mac and cheese? lol) We had nap time/quiet time and when the hour was up we sat and read several stories from the Jesus Story book Bible. (while I drank coffee and tried to wake up!) BTW- If you’re looking for a colorful children’s Bible story book- the more I read this the more I like it.

E has been eagerly anticipating our trip to kroger today so I could get butter so we could make applesauce cookies from the apples they picked last week. Baking with a 2 year old and a four year old can be um, interesting. T.J would not stop screaming because I was having them take turns with the ingredients and every time it was E’s turn he would scream and cry like his heart was breaking and he’d never get a chance to put something in the bowl again. I didn’t want him to wake up T so I ended up putting him in his high chair with a bowl and measuring cups and spoons and giving him his own ingredients to make a mess with. And boy was it a mess! By the time we were done the kitchen smelled amazing but looked like a tornado made out of flour had come through the place. There was so many dishes it was one of those messes where you just kind of stand there for a moment taking it in. Thankfully the kids uncle was outside cutting down trees and I told them to go watch him and that entertained them while I cleaned up. (recipe we used in the link!)

https://www.google.com/amp/www.marthastewart.com/314405/iced-oatmeal-applesauce-cookies%3famp

I drizzled icing on the cookies and the kids each had one before I brought them outside to play. It was cloudy again this afternoon and felt much cooler than last week. T woke up and we sat outside watching one tree fall after another while T’s brother in law knocked and cut them down. Slowly we began to be able to see the field and pond that makes a beautiful view on the other side of the thick woods. Our yard has always been tightly enclosed with trees but now the sun shines back there and it’s lovely. T picked out tree he wants to hang a tire swing from.

We spent a couple hours outside before bringing in the very dirty kids and showering them. We had frozen pizzas for dinner- I found some grain free pizzas at kroger. Instead of a wheat crust it’s made out of chicken! T ate with us before heading out. I put on a 20 minute or so educational video for the kids and sat and read my book. Instead of doing any more housework I put the kids to bed early and called it a night. Time for mommy to relax!

I’m really liking this on-line journaling thing so thanks for reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

