Starting to get into the swing of our new schedule

T got home early this morning, right after I woke up. He was all excited to show me photos of a tractor he saw on craigslist but I’m not sure at 5:30 a.m I was very enthusiastic about discussing the pros and cons of different types of tractors lol. I tried! He was ready to go to bed so I gathered up my stuff out of our bedroom and bathroom and started the day getting ready in the kitchen. Night shift life!

While reading about the coming destruction of Jerusalem prophesied by Ezekiel I read this verse, “And I sought for a man among them, that should make up the hedge, and stand in the gap before me for the land, that I should not destroy it: but I found none.” Ezekiel 22:30. It made me so thankful that I have Jesus to stand in the gap for me!

This is the workout video I do more than any other. When I first started doing it some of the positions like the downward facing dog pose was difficult for me but I’ve gotten stronger and more flexible.

E woke up before her brother so we had time to just lay on the couch together and cuddle. She told me she was going to marry her brother when she was older and then when I told her that wouldn’t work out she asked if she could marry daddy and then asked if she could marry me. She also told me she wished I was a queen ant having lots of babies. Classic examples of conversations with E ha ha!

I made the kids hardboiled eggs and toast and started some laundry and unloaded the dishwasher before getting ready to head to story time. On Wednesday’s at 10:00 the library does a story time geared more towards preschoolers. I have brought E just about every Wednesday since she was 18 months old. They read a few books, played a couple learning games and did a craft. There is usually anywhere from 10-20 kids there.

We came home and had lunch and then quiet time/nap time. I spent some time ordering school photo prints, and answering e-mails and texts. After getting caught up on dishes and laundry I helped E fill out a post card that she had decorated for one of her Aunt’s and we went to the mailbox together to send it off. We had in the mailbox some updated photos from one of our Compassion children. E was thrilled and I’m glad she has a relationship with a child all the way in Uganda.

https://www.compassion.com/m/default.htm If you’re interested in learning more about Compassion International here’s a link.

Me and T brought the kids outside to play. It got cloudy and cooled off considerably. We had a really nice time sitting on the tail gate of his pick up and talking while the kids played. It was probably my favorite part of the day.

E talked me into letting them have a bubble bath in the jacuzzi instead of a shower. I put waaay to much bubble bath in and the bubbles got really out of hand much to the kids delight! I wish the internet was fast enough to load photos right now- T.J was practically buried in bubbles!

While I bathed the kids T made us all dinner and we got to eat together and cleaned the kitchen together before he left. Isn’t he an awesome guy? The kids started a tradition where we go out on the porch and yell, “Good-bye!’ and “love you!” at the top of our lungs until he is out of sight.

After dinner I did a little bit of Mother Goose Time preschool with the kids and then I sat and relaxed with my book while they watched Preschool Prep videos.

I vacuumed some but that was about it before feeding the kids some warm apple sauce with cream and then tucking them in.

On Wednesday’s at noon in our area the tornado sirens get tested every week. When I was a newly wed I started this thing where whenever I hear the sirens I say “I love you” so that when my husband hears the sirens he can know I’m saying I love him. Today when the sirens went off I heard E start shouting from the other room, “I LOVE YOU DADDY!” It made me smile to have built such a fun little thing into our family culture. The funny thing is we say it even when we know he’s sleeping or is not where he will hear the sirens. It’s been so many years it’s just something we do now!

Do you have any small traditions or things you do that are a part of your family culture?

 

Leave a Reply

