Can I share my day with you?

I previously wrote about how my husband was on a great schedule and how it was going to come to an end soon. He’s back on a kind of difficult schedule for a while and to be totally honest I tend to get a little depressed when he works these hours.

I didn’t come on here just to whine though! I do have an idea! I made a small list of things that bring me happiness. Things that I enjoy doing. At the top of the list I made is sharing about our life on this blog. I usually feel like I shouldn’t. I feel like that when I write it needs to be applicable to others and that just writing about our day wouldn’t be beneficial or even interesting to anyone else.

I thought about it though, and since I know I normally get a bit down during this shift and I know that recording my life with my children makes me happy, maybe you wouldn’t mind seeing posts like these.  I think the act of writing about my life helps me to see my blessings in black and white and makes me realize how good my life is! I hope you enjoy them! Please pray for me during this time and also share with me in the comments what kind of things you do during difficult seasons that bring you joy.

First thing today was Mama’s morning time:
Quiet time (bible reading, prayer and a hot cup of coffee!) I’m currently reading through the book of Ezekiel

I recently found this youtube channel for diastase safe workouts. I did this one today

I made the bed, (at least I got it ready for my husband to get in it), got dressed for the day, started a load of laundry and tidied up the master bedroom and bathroom.
A little after 7:00 the children started to wake up and my husband got home. My husband went to sleep and me and the kids had breakfast and I got the dishwasher unloaded
E wanted to know if I would wrestle her. Before 8 a.m wrestling is not high on my priority list but last night I listened to this interview by Rachel Stafford and I was encouraged to set the timer for just 10 minutes and wrestle with my kids like there was nothing else on earth I’d rather be doing. They loved it!

After that I was ready to sit down so we read from The Jesus Story Book Bible and a couple library books.
I folded and turned over a load of laundry then brought the kids to play in the yard while it was still cool out.
I sat and read some and E made a mud bakery for me to shop from.

I cleared off and sweep the porches and watered the flowers, working slowly enjoying my time.
I brought out for the kids warm bowls of fresh from the crock pot apple sauce that I had prepared last night from the apples the kids picked last week when I took them to a pick your own farm.
When it was time to go in the kids were so dirty they had to go straight to the shower!
After I made myself another cup of coffee, we started in on our Mother Goose Time. We played a “would you rather” question game, a phonics game, and read an “I can read book” that came with an activity to help the child recognize the words. I was really surprised but towards the end of our phonics game E was recognizing the words, “dog” “frog” and “fog”. While doing the I can read activity she was able to spot the differences between the words “he” and “she”.

 
We had lunch and then I laid T.J down for a nap and set up E with crayons, paper, a pile of books and play dough on a cookie sheet. I set the timer for an hour. The rule during our quiet hour is she has to entertain herself quietly while T.J and I nap. If you’re interested it was the article in the link below that got me started on quiet time and helped me to start getting the rest I need.

https://powerofmoms.com/mommys-naptime-101-2/

Quiet hour was over and my husband got up about the same time. The afternoon was spent doing dishes, picking up toys, mopping and spending time relaxing with my husband.
I drove to town by myself while T watched the kids and I went to the library that belongs to our homeschool co-op and spent a lovely time browsing curriculum in silence. I returned some things and picked up a couple things for the kids before stopping buy the grocery store to get a few items.
When I had got home T had already started supper so we finished preparing it together and had a family dinner before he went to work. His shift starts later in the evening than usual so it was neat to get to do that. He played with the kids while I cleaned the kitchen and then we all went outside to wave good bye.
I put on one of the preschool prep videos for the kids and kicked up my feet and read some before starting their evening routine and putting them to bed.

Now that the kids are in bed, I’ve looked over E’s preschool lesson for tomorrow and I am enjoying the quiet as I write. It’s been a nice day and thank you for reading! It was an ordinary day but as I wrote about today I felt so immensely blessed, it really made me happy!

 

Leave a Reply

