Will you keep me accountable?

I’ve listened to this sermon by Randy Alcorn twice recently and it is both extremely encouraging and convicting. I listened to it one afternoon on my own and then yesterday while driving my husband and I listened to it and then spent a long time discussing it.

As a woman whose job description is “homemaker” when I see a need it’s difficult for me to raise money to meet it. The best way for me to be able to meet the needs of others is to find ways to save money and then pass along what I save to meet those needs.

I’ve been thinking about one area of my life that I want to change and that I have been trying to change and thinking about changing for months. The problem is I haven’t changed. Here’s what I want to do- I’m boycotting Starbucks. No, it has nothing to do with homosexuality or guns or lack of christmas trees on cups.

You see, I’ve received a few different letters from our sponsor child S who lives in Ghana. In each letter he has asked for pray that his dad will be able to get the funds to help start up his own business so that he can have consistent work. Each time I read that I hear in my head James 2:16 “And one of you say unto them, Depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit?”

For several months now I’ve been thinking that if I stopped buying my medium, iced coffee, with heavy whipping cream and sugar free vanilla syrup- no classic, every week, it would add up to quite a bit of money by the end of the year and I could use that money to go towards being the answer to S’s prayer. It’s quite convicting when I look at it that way.

The problem is when I’ve been out doing errands with the kids and it’s hot and I have more to do when I get home I become focused on how sweet and cold that drink is and I conveniently forget about the needs of S. I am a steward of God’s money, it does not belong to me and yet in this area I have not been a faithful steward. I’m confessing this fault to you my friends and readers and reaching out for public accountability. Will you please be my accountability and help me to give up this one petty thing to help provide for S’s need? I’ve tried to change without talking to others about it but my efforts have failed. I realize though that when we shed light on something hidden, even if it’s something like a poor purchasing decision, the lure of that temptation goes away.

I’ll be able to see in the future that I wrote this post on August 6, 2017 and next year I’ll be able to come back and tell you if I was faithful and if I was able to give to the needs of S’s family.

I highly recommend the above video. I’ve never read the book The Treasure Principle but I feel that this hour covers the topic of christian giving and christian finances pretty well.

Challenge: Think about how you spend your money and ask yourself if you are being the best steward of God’s money that you can be.

Switching gears… this morning I read these words by the prophet Isaiah and I encourage you to meditate on them while you worship the Lord this Sunday morning.

 

Isaiah 12King James Version (KJV)

12 And in that day thou shalt say, O Lord, I will praise thee: though thou wast angry with me, thine anger is turned away, and thou comfortedst me.

2 Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the Lord Jehovah is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

3 Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation.

4 And in that day shall ye say, Praise the Lord, call upon his name, declare his doings among the people, make mention that his name is exalted.

5 Sing unto the Lord; for he hath done excellent things: this is known in all the earth.

6 Cry out and shout, thou inhabitant of Zion: for great is the Holy One of Israel in the midst of thee.

Those are some awesome truths to meditate on. God is my comfort, God is not angry towards me, God is my salvation, I can trust God, God is my strength and song and I need not be afraid. With JOY, joy my brothers and sisters, drink deeply of The Living Water. Exalt the name of God, tell others about Him! Sing and cry and shout for all He has done and because He is near!

Leave a Reply

