stay tuned! ….

I have some big big news but I can’t share it on here quite yet! I know, that totally leaves you hanging but stay tuned, there are major changes happening in the Snow household!! I’m actually in the process of writing the post about our news but I have to wait a couple more weeks until I can share..

In the mean time.. Have you ever read this poem? The very first time I ever posted on this blog I posted this poem.

Do The Next Thing

Quoted by Elizabeth Elliot

“At an old English parsonage down by the sea,
there came in the twilight a message to me.
Its quaint Saxon legend deeply engraven
that, as it seems to me, teaching from heaven.
And all through the hours the quiet words ring,
like a low inspiration, ‘Do the next thing.’

Many a questioning, many a fear,
many a doubt hath its quieting here.
Moment by moment, let down from heaven,
time, opportunity, guidance are given.
Fear not tomorrow, child of the King,
trust that with Jesus, do the next thing.

Do it immediately, do it with prayer,
do it reliantly, casting all care.
Do it with reverence, tracing His hand,
who placed it before thee with earnest command.
Stayed on omnipotence, safe ‘neath His wing,
leave all resultings, do the next thing.

Looking to Jesus, ever serener,
working or suffering be thy demeanor,
in His dear presence, the rest of His calm,
the light of His countenance, be thy psalm.
Do the next thing.”

Author Unknown

I have in the past turned to this poem in times of grief as a “motto” or a guide of what it looks like to keep going when life gets hard. Just “do the next thing.” Just place one foot in front of the other, not looking behind and not looking ahead, just take a another step.

Right now in life we have been presented with a wonderful opportunity and it is not a time of grief although it is a very big change. With a change this big it could be easy for me to get overwhelmed and the small griefs that come with change (even a happy change!) could easily be too much for me. I have recently been thinking about this poem again and Jesus’ words in Matthew 6: 34 “Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

Whatever you are going through in life right now whether it is a time of sorrow or you have joyous plans laid out in front of you remember that this moment is all we have. When I fixate on the past I become full of regret and get depressed. I can do nothing to change the past and I end up missing what’s right in front of my face. If I look towards the future and I fixate on all the unknowns and everything I don’t have control over and everything I think I have to do then I can get easily overwhelmed and stressed and miss today as well.

Whatever is in front of you or behind you my friend I encourage you to take one step at a time, looking to Jesus and do just the next thing. Don’t miss the beauty of today. Don’t rush through this precious gift you’ll never get back.

Here’s my challenge to you- what is one way you can cherish what is in front of you today?

For me, even though the changes we are going through are happy ones (don’t worry I’m not going to come back with bad news!) I feel like so much information is coming at me so fast that I have to slow it down or my mind will explode! (figuratively of course lol!) That means for the next week I’m going to put down my phone and step away from the internet to try and calm the amount of information that is coming at me so fast! Except for this blog because sharing with you helps organize my thoughts and definitely makes me calmer!

Stay tuned… 🙂

I’m editing to add my next steps for today. Here’s a little peak inside my day and my mind..

  1. spend 45 minutes cleaning the house so it will be ready incase someone wants to look at it today (we had an open house Tuesday so I’m hoping this will be the case!)
  2. get every one dressed and ready, finish making my grocery list and go grocery shopping
  3. make the 2 phone calls I need to make.
  4. take the kids outside to play

See, that’s easy! When I think in terms of what’s the next step right in front of me it’s not that much and it’s totally doable!

Leave a Reply

