Prayer walk

The first half of the year I felt I was doing really well in the area of prayer. I had a prayer journal and I was diligent to take it out and pray for the people and situations that I had listed for that day of the week. And then my prayer journal went through the dryer and was torn into lots of tiny pieces I had to pull off the clothes (don’t ask how that happened!) I went through a period where I thought it was probably for the best that I was probably relying on the journal too much. Except, I stopped being faithful to pray and I would forget the things I wanted to pray about.

I bought a small pocket sized notebook and used those sticky dividers that go on the paper to create sections. I used the acronym ACTS- Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, Supplication and wrote down Bible verses to read as I prayed through each of those categories. I lost the notebook. I don’t even know where it is right now.

I’ve been convicted lately that I need to spend time in prayer and I need to be more faithful and I also need to know how to talk to God without relying on notebooks or phone apps to help me.

I did something yesterday that I enjoyed so much that I did it again today and I can see myself keeping this as a habit and a joyous part of my day.

Early in the morning before my kids were up but the sun had started to come up so I could see, I went outside and walked some.  I have to be close to the house because my children are inside but usually they don’t wake up until 6:30 or 7:00 or later so I can slip outside around 5:45 for 15 minutes no problem. It’s always been peaceful to me to be outside early in the morning and honestly being outside helps me turn my thoughts to the majesty of God and get my thoughts off my own self. Being outside means I’m away from distraction as well. I’m not near my phone or looking at the bed that needs made or anything else. Just a short sweet time with God. I love it. I kept thinking back to that time through out the day yesterday and it was one of the best parts of my day.

Questions: what helps you to be faithful in prayer? Are you naturally spontaneous in prayer or does it take effort for you to be faithful? Have you created any routines that help you spend time talking with God each day? How has your prayer life changed depending on what season of life you are in?

And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed.” Mark 1:35

 

Leave a Reply

