So how’s my month without internet going?

I’m struggling! After reaping good benefits of a week without internet I decided to take a month break from the internet (except for this blog). After the first week I got on FB to check and see if there were any updates on someone I had been praying for and I saw I had missed someone trying to get a hold of me and also an event I would have liked to know about. After that I decided to go ahead and spend 2-5 minutes each morning checking to see if I had any messages but not scrolling through my newsfeed or reading blogs or anything like that. I had signed up for a commitment that required people keep in tough with me through FB put as of this week I’m not obligated to that commitment any more so I can stop checking for messages now although every few days I probably will check for prayer request updates for this person I have been praying for.

For the most part I’ve done well and I have seen a lot of benefit from staying off line. There were 2 or 3 days and nights this week that I really felt the toll of my husbands more intense than usual work schedule and I was tired so I bribed myself to get through all my work and get the kids in bed by promising myself internet time. (That’s how my mind works lol!) I’m kind of disappointed that I did that though because during this time that I’m taking a break I really want to train myself to take those moments when I am discouraged or tired and learn to find comfort in reading my Bible or praying or connecting with people instead of using the internet for quick entertainment or escapism. I don’t think the internet is bad but time does go by quickly and most of the time I am not ‘redeeming the time’ when I am on the internet.

I find the older my children get the stricter I am becoming about media. I really don’t want my children to remember a phone in front of my face or sense me wanting to just get alone so I can read some blogs. The irony is most blogs I read are about motherhood. I need to be doing instead of reading. I know what it takes to be a good mom. Yes, there is a time and place for written encouragement but most of the time I just need to get done what I know I need to be doing. Life is too short for anything less.

Anyways, I’m writing this to encourage myself to keep up with my commitment to myself to take a month’s break from the internet. There is just 12 more days until I reach my goal. Somethings I want to do with that time are:

work on spring preschool activities with E

write a letter to a friend in the hospital

call some family members I haven’t talked to in a while

plan some special resurrection Sunday stuff for my family

take some photos of my kids and make a card to send to my dad for his birthday

send a birthday card to my brother

go on a date with my husband

make myself some low carb treats to help me stay on my diet

be more faithful with my children’s Bible time

go on more nature walks with my kids

keep working on my memory verses

finish a book review I’m working on

keep working toward my New Year resolution goals

See? I don’t have time for the internet!

Have you taken a break from the internet or media for a specific time and if so how did it affect your life?

Leave a Reply

