TrialNet

Once a year we bring our children to get their blood tested with  trial net.  Type 1 diabetes is unfortunately a genetic disease and while I hate getting my kids poked with needles, getting them tested once a year for the auto antibodies that cause type 1 diabetes is the best way to keep a check on their health and their blood is donated to research to help find a cure. This will be E’s second time getting tested and T.J’s first. Praise the Lord, last year E tested negative for all 5 autoantibodies. We’ll get them tested today and hear back about the results in 6 weeks or so.

If they were to test positive for any of the antibodies we then would learn about the different studies being done to see if there is any way to prevent the disease and then make a decision if we wanted to get involved.

We may visit the zoo afterwards so hopefully that will make it up to the kids for getting poked 😦

I wanted to share this because when E was a baby I asked every doctor I came in contact with about auto antibody testing and they all told me such a thing does not exist. I knew that couldn’t be true! Even doctors at the children’s hospital where trial net is located didn’t know that it existed in the hospital they were working at! They all told me essentially, “we can test blood sugar but no one tests for auto antibodies.”

I searched and asked around and spent a lot of time on line before I was told about trial net by a friend of a friend when I inquired on Facebook for help in my search.

I called the trial net testing facility in Florida who told me we had a facility right in Little Rock!

If you or one of your children have diabetes and are looking to get tested there is ether one in your area or you send blood throughout the mail using your local lab. I put a link up above.

Leave a Reply

