A heart close and right with God

img_7205

I’m happy to say that having our verse of the week written up on our white board has made me memorize it easily. Just seeing it every time I walked by caused me to learn it. (although this photo looks like two children gazing serenely at scripture they were fighting about touching the whiteboard lol)

Yesterday I referenced Psalm 78. I bring it up because it highlights a sin that I want to keep in mind and ask God to help me not to be guilty of it as I worship Him with other believers today.

Psalm 78:36-37 “Nevertheless they did flatter him with their mouth, and they lied unto him with their tongues. For their heart was not right with him, neither were they stedfast in his covenant.”

Jesus says something very similar in

Matthew 15:8 “This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.”

Dear God Who is worthy of all worship,

Thank You that my sinful heart was been washed clean by Your blood. I pray my worship and adoration not be mere words with no depth but heartfelt praise and thanksgiving to my Redeemer. Make my heart desire You above all else. Make my mind steadfastly meditate on You day and night. Keep me from lying. I don’t want to say in a song that You are my everything and then forget You and walk in sin. I pray the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing to You. Make both Godly. God, I don’t want my Christian walk to be fake or merely external or only existing in certain circumstances or among certain people. I pray You be the desire of my heart and I thank You that You are with me always. Remove from me hypocrisy and lying lips. Empower me by Your strength, not my own feeble attempts, to be on fire for You and not luke warm which You despise. May our relationship be living and vibrant. I pray You know me and I know You. May I be willing to say, “search me,” and may I be willing to change when You show me sin in my life.

In Jesus Name I pray and Jesus’ name I praise. A-men

Have a blessed Sunday everyone! Let’s worship our creator with heartfelt praise for He has been so good to us! If you need a reminder of God’s goodness and mercy, read the whole chapter of Psalm 78.

It’s a little after 7 and my kids are starting to stir, got to go put on my mom hat and get this day going!

Leave a Reply

