God, marriage, children- being intentional in 2017

http://tolovehonorandvacuum.com/2017/01/big-picture-marriage-goals/

I read this above post yesterday by Sheila Gregoire on tolovehonorandvacuum.com and it really resonated with me. I’m a person who gets easily distracted by all the many things I want to do in life or thinking about all the things I think I should be doing.

I love the idea of having a mission statement in my life that keeps me focused on accomplishing what I want in life and helps me to say no to the things that I want to do but that don’t help me meet my biggest goals.

In a few short words what are my biggest goals in life?

  1. To know, please and serve God
  2. To have a happy marriage
  3. To have a good relationship with my kids and raise them well

In even shorter words- God, marriage, children.

That mission statement is a filter that will help me decide if something belongs in my life at the moment.

In 2017 I want to have my marriage grow and really flourish. I have a really great marriage but in the trenches of caring for babies it’s all to easy to put by default, marriage on the back burner when little one’s are so needy and when we are working around a work schedule that is so extreme.

So what are my big picture marriage goals?

I want my husband to feel like he is first in my life. He is but I don’t know that I am disciplined enough or intentional enough with my time and actions to always show it.

Pray for my marriage and my husband.

Constantly look for little ways to improve my marriage and find more happiness for both of us.

Find a hobby that we enjoy doing together that we can also do with the kids (because that’s the stage of life we’re in.) Have more fun!

I think the over all word to describe my goals would be “intention”. I want to be more intentional about my marriage and loving and serving my husband.

I’m thinking about starting a marriage building series on this blog where I can record steps I’m taking on this journey in 2017.

 

“There is a difference also between a wife and a virgin. The unmarried woman careth for the things of the Lord, that she may be holy both in body and in spirit: but she that is married careth for the things of the world, how she may please her husband.” 1 Cor. 7:34

 

Cheers to a happy 2017 and being intentional about investing in my marriage!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

