Can a pop song be a prayer?

Can a pop song you don’t really know the words to be a prayer? It was mine last night.

“There’s a hole in my soul I can’t fill it. I can’t fill it. There’s a hole in my soul Can you you fill it? Can you fill it?”

Except in my case the “you” should be written as You.

Yesterday was our first day back from spending 6 days in Connecticut where I’m from with my family. Wednesday night we flew home. I was really sad. I felt the heaviness of knowing I can’t ever be satisfied split between people I love in one part of the country and people I love in another part of the country. Where ever I live there will always be longing for something else.

You can probably guess where I am going with this for this is the human experience. The routine mundane of this life, the disappointments, the unfulfilled longings of our hearts are the symptoms of a world gone wrong. The ringing emptiness of my heart is a cry to be near God for Whom I was made. Nothing satisfies for nothing is supposed to satisfy me. Every thing I turn to to drown out the loneliness only amplifies it 100 times over for this longing exists to be filled by God.

There’s a hole in my soul God can fill it, God can fill. Only He satisfied, I am thirsty I am dry!

 As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God. My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God? Psalm 42:1-2

Are you restless today? Let the restlessness remind you of heaven. Let it drive you to your knees and ask to be filled with the Comforter. Pray for strength to wait patiently for the coming of Jesus our Bridegroom Who will come and fill all our unfulfilled desires.

This morning I was reading Heaven by Joni Eareckson Tada. She was expounding on this verse:

Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing. 2 Tim 4:8

Lord! Let the disappointments of this be used to make me long for Your return! Come quickly Lord Jesus! May I love Your appearing in that day!

That was the exhortation I needed this morning. Every time I feel sadness here on earth I need it to lift my eyes to home. I need it to make me seek the face of my God.

Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore. Psalm 16:11

My sister in law and her new baby and husband came to visit last night. I tried to explain a little bit what I was feeling. That when I feel this sadness over family having to live apart and far away that I need to remember how great heaven is going to be when there will be no more good bye’s and no more tears and everyone is living together! It’s going to be a celebration that doesn’t end.

It’s much like the paradox I live in now, having children on earth and a child in heaven. One foot there and one foot here. One day me and my children (assuming they will grow to trust God) will all be together and the longing for wholeness will be filled.

While the post may feel heavy it’s not supposed to be. Our monetary and light afflictions are here to cheer us on as we journey home.

We did have a really good time visiting with family in Connecticut by the way. The joys of this life are there to be a shadow of the joy those who profess Christ will one day possess. When life is really good (which most of the time it is!) that goodness gives me a small taste of the glory before me! Like an appetizer that leaves me hungrier for the real meal, happiness in this life makes me want the best and the better in the life to come.

(note- I say “yesterday” in this post because it took me two days to finish it. It’s been two days at the time of publishing)

Leave a Reply

