So what do I think about my “FlyLady” week?

For the past week I’ve worked to organize my home and routines by following the routines found on FlyLady.net.

I have definitely been more organized this week and it has helped me as my new insulin regimen requires I eat the same thing at the same time every day which requires being pretty organized. I’m not a tidy or organized person by nature. I’m naturally messy. That’s probably why I’m one of those people who likes chore charts and routines. Because I need it! Also I feel like having routines gives me an “end” to my work. There may be other stuff I see to do but knowing I’ve done my jobs for the day mentally frees me up to do other things.

I like the morning and evening routines and I like having specific jobs to do on specific days- mopping on monday, cleaning the car on Friday, etc. Anything over and above that though is too much for the stage of life I am in right now. In this season the little people in my home are totally dependent on me to wipe their noses, put their clothes on, wipe their behinds and feed them. With the amount of time and energy that all takes it just doesn’t matter to me if there is dust on top of the fridge or if the silverware drawer is organized! Yes I like those things done but it’s just not practical to expect that level of efficiency in house keeping when I only have two hands and two children who need constant care and supervision.

While I may not do it perfectly every day I do plan to keep up with the morning and evening routines and the chores of the day.

So what do you think about my little challenge? Have you ever visited FlyLady.net? There’s a lot to be learned about housekeeping/ homemaking over there.

Have a happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

