We made people happy!!

Luke 6:31

And as ye would that men should do to you, do ye also to them likewise.

A couple days before Thanksgiving I was moping around feeling sorry for myself that my husband was working and there was nothing special to do with the kids. My family is half way across the country and every one I know was of course going to be spending the day with their families. My husband’s family gets together the Saturday after Thanksgiving so his siblings can spend the holiday with their in laws. I knew we would get to celebrate a couple days later but I was feeling lonely about having nothing to do the day of. I told God how I felt. “You know, you’re not the only one lonely on Thanksgiving..” was the response in my heart.

I immediately knew  how I was going to spend the day and it made me excited. I called a nursing home and asked if I could come in on Thanksgiving and have my daughter pass out Thanksgiving cards and visit with people who would like a visit. I had previously asked on Facebook if anyone else because of the plant’s schedule would be alone that day. One of the other wives who I had only meet a coupe times previously but who I really liked was in the same situation as me and wanted to join us with her boys at the nursing home.

With kids and cards in tow we went to the part of the home for the residents with Alzheimer’s disease. I was really impressed by how willing our kids were to serve these people they never meet and who from a child’s perspective could be intimidating. I had told E we were there to make people happy on Thanksgiving and she acted as if that was her job.

You know what happened? I really enjoyed myself. It felt good to do good and trying to serve someone else who is suffering took my mind off of myself and made my thoughts not so selfish. The stark contrast of seeing how good my life is in comparison with these poor people’s suffering made me really really thankful as well.

When E saw her daddy that afternoon she said to him excitedly, “Daddy, we made people happy!!”

I’ll have to remember this in the future and I hope you will too. When I am down and feeling sorry for myself, there is always someone who I could be serving and in serving them I’ll be blessed too.  It’s an easy concept to know but it’s another thing to actually do it!

Matthew 25:40

And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

 

Also, Hey! This is my 100th post! I”m so glad you’re taking the time to read my thoughts and letting me share my heart with you. I hope this little blog is an encouragement to you!

Leave a Reply

