Diabetes and God’s Power

Yesterday was diabetes awareness day. It would have been the 125th birthday of Frederick Banting, the man who discovered insulin. On my Facebook page I changed my profile picture to jdrf’s “type 1 diabetes look’s like me” slogan and I shared a few facts about diabetes. I want to take a moment here to share another side of living life with a chronic disease. As I shared before I’m reading through Randy Alcorn’s book, If God is Good Faith in the Midst of Suffering and Evil.

I wanted to share what he wrote on page’s 172-173 about his life as an insulin dependent diabetic. He first quotes 2 Corinthians 12:7-10 then goes on to say,

   “As a teenager who had just come to faith in Christ, I read this passage with perplexed interest. I believed it because it was God’s Word- but it made little sense to me. Now, forty years later, it makes a great deal of sense. As an insulin dependent diabetic I have lain helpless, stiff as a board, not in my right mind, needing my wife to get sugar in my mouth. My once-strong body grows weak. Low blood sugar clouds my judgement and leaves me with a memory of having said stupid things, like a drunken man. Several times a year I have severe reactions in which I don’t know what’s happening to me.

This humbles me, but I can honestly say I am grateful for it; yes, I even delight in it, because I recognize the value of being humbled, for “when I am weak, then I am strong.” My weakness drives me to greater dependance upon Christ. I wouldn’t begin to trade the spiritual benefit’s I’ve received.

As a young pastor I loved God sincerely; but like my tavern-owner father, I was independent, self-sufficient, and prone to do things on my own. Christ’s words, “Apart from me you can do nothing” (John 15:5), rang true- but I did a lot of things without drawing on his strength. So from eternity’s viewpoint, those things amounted to nothing.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

