A sweet little answer to prayer..

Yesterday morning I wrote in my prayer journal something I had prayed many times for. I asked God that my children would feel Him through me. Yesterday I had the sweetest little answer to that prayer and I wanted to write it down so I don’t forget it. I think you will think it is sweet as well.

Last night my husband unexpectedly got off work a little early so we were in the process of packing up for an impromptu bike ride when my daughter while attempting to potty outside (don’t ask- country living lol) got pee all over her feet. I was tempted to grumble at her for making a mess but I thought “If Jesus can wash the feet of Judas his enemy then I can clean up this child I love with a smile.” I got a towel and put her little arm around my neck to steady her as I cleaned off one leg and foot and then the other. I let my lips brush against her cheek for a moment. “You look like God washing my feet.” she said. “What?” I asked. “You look like God washing my feet. I used my imagination.” she added with a chuckle.

She remembered me reading her the story of Jesus washing the disciples feet from the Jesus Story Book Bible.In that moment I was so thankful I had responded to her need with love because if I had not she would not be recalling the story of Jesus’ service to His disciples and she would not have experienced associating a tender touch from her mom with Jesus’ love.

I hope I can remember this moment next time I’m in a rush and my children want something or need something. I hope I can stop and realize that those are the opportunities to show them Christ. When my daughter wants to spread the jelly on her own sandwich and I take joy in watching her instead of telling her no for fear of a mess, I am teaching her God delights in His children. When I stop and cuddle my children in spite of being in the middle of a chore I want done, I am teaching them that God has time for them. As parents we have been given each day to show our children little glimpses of true love and what it means to have a heavenly Father who loves them and gave Himself for them.

Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you for blessing me with my children. Help me to love them today like You love them and to serve them like You have served me. May my children come to know You in a real and personal way and please help me each day with both my life and my words to show them You.

Leave a Reply

