How well do I know the Bible?

We just got back home from going to a MOPS get together for the first time. MOPS stands for moms of preschoolers and it’s a thing that’s country wide. Every month the moms get together for a meeting and once a month there is a “field trip” or play date of some sort planned. Today we woke up to a beautiful cool breezy fall day. It felt amazing after all the super hot weather we’ve been having! I packed up the kids and I meet the MOPS group at a park for a couple hours. I got to meet and chat with other moms and my kids really wore themselves out good so that’s why I have some time to sit down and write! 🙂 If you’re looking to meet some friends or are new to an area I recommend finding out if your area has a MOPS.

Anyways! Last night I dreamed I was talking to a woman who told me her favorite book of the Bible was Psalms. In my dream I told her I liked Psalms as well. “Oh yeah?” she asked,”what are some Psalms you like?” And in my dream I couldn’t remember one reference or even one verse. I was embarrassed and realized I didn’t know the Bible very well.

When I woke up this morning I strained my mind to try and remember a reference from Psalms. NOTHING CAME TO MIND. I remembered a few lines from a couple different Psalms but I had no idea what the references were or where to find them if I needed to. My summary in my dream unfortunately is true. I don’t know the Bible well enough. I’ve heard and read it all my life so I can repeat stories and summarize well but as far as memorization or knowing references I’d get like a D-.

That’s a sad state for a child of God! This morning one of the first things I did was open to the book of Psalms. Because I opened to it I read Psalm 148, 149 and 150. That should be easy to remember because those are the last 3 chapters in Psalms. So, to answer the woman in my dream who asked me to share a psalm…

Psalm 149: 4-5 “For the LORD taketh pleasure in his people: he will beautify the meek with salvation. Let the saints be joyful in glory: let them sing aloud upon their beds.”

Isn’t that a beautiful thought that God takes pleasure in His people? I’m going to write that up on the chalkboard in our dining room and try to memorize this.

And so you can visualize my dream, the woman who I was talking to was a sailor, was smoking a cigarette, and had an anchor tattoo and every thing. Even my normal sounding dreams are weird!

How do you memorize scripture? Share with me in the comments!

4 thoughts on “How well do I know the Bible?

  1. In recent years, I’ve been memorizing along with my kids. Their verses are a good refresher for me, since a lot of them are ones that I’d memorized a long time ago but that have gotten a little muddled in my mind. I’ve also just in the past week or two picked a verse from my daily reading/meditation on Scripture. This is the first time in a LONG time that I’ve set out to memorize something on my own. 🙂 I can’t use the “mom brain” excuse forever. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

