I’m not good at praying.

I’m not. Especially in private. My mind wanders, I get tired and lose focus. About a year and a half ago I started a new prayer journal that I only have a few pages left in. I don’t sit and write prayers on a daily basis- mostly because I’m busy with small children, but when I really need to pray about something I pull out pen and paper and write to God. When communicating with people I am a better writer than speaker and it is the same with my relationship with God. When I’m writing a prayer I’m focused. I can see the progress I’m making as the words cover the page and afterwards my faith is built because if I’ve written down my requests, I don’t forget that I’ve left it in His hands. Also, writing down a prayer has the added benefit of recording my prayers so I can have a history of how my relationship with God has grown and how He has answered my prayers.

The other day I took some time to flip through this prayer journal. I was blessed by one particular answered prayer but I also got a good laugh. February of last year I had repeated prayers of asking for forgiveness and asking for help because I kept yelling at my child. I laughed because those two weeks of continually re repenting I was pregnant and didn’t know it yet. Can you say hormones!? lol

Anyways, I’m sharing this little thing about myself because I hope to encourage you if you also find prayer difficult. Do you enjoy writing? Have you tried writing down your prayers? It doesn’t have to be in a fancy journal in calligraphy. Today I needed God to help me with something so I grabbed a notebook that had greasy stuff spilled on it, wrote down my request and then tore it up. The format wasn’t what mattered. What mattered was my heart was coming before the throne of grace to “obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

This is not to say I don’t want to become a better praying. If God is the closest One to me and the most intimate relationship of my life shouldn’t I be able to talk to Him without getting distracted? If I never verbally communicated with my husband we wouldn’t be very close! At the same time, I do have boxes and binders full of letters I’ve written to my husband communicating my heart to him sometimes better than my words could.

Let’s talk in the comments! If prayer is a strong point in your life, how did it become so? Do you write down prayers?

Leave a Reply

