A Quick Book Review: Loving The Little Years

Unknown-4

Earlier this year my friend Lauren recommended that I read the book Loving The Little Years Motherhood in the Trenches by Rachel Jankovic. She said I could borrow it but at the time I think I was working through a few other books. Several weeks ago we went and visited with my sister in law who lives out of state and she told me what a great book Loving The Little Years was and asked if I had read it. When we got back from our trip I asked Lauren if I could borrow it.

It’s short with the chapters being around 3 pages each so it’s a book that a mom can get quick encouragement from without the burden of a huge parenting book in front of her.

I had several favorite take aways from the book. She has a great suggestion for how to talk to little girls about their emotions. She compares emotions to horses (pink, glitter rainbow horses..) and shares the talks she has had with her daughters about how to keep those horses on the path we want them on and to keep those horses out of the muck. This was really timely since I have a 3 year old little girl and I am going to copy her illustration word for word when I talk to E about emotions!

I thought what she had to say about body image was worded really well. I’ve never been one of those to get behind the body positive messages that say, “Your stretch marks are your tiger stripes! Be proud!” it’s always just fallen kind of short and sounds empty to me. I appreciated her take though. She takes the eternal perspective and reminds moms that our bodies are tools and every tool that has been well used is going to show signs of wear. She encourages moms to remember that at the end of our lives we will be much happier having used our bodies to give life, live life and care for little lives that if we had lived to preserve our tools (our bodies).

The chapter “in the rock tumbler” where she compares motherhood to a rock tumbler of sanctification she writes some pretty convicting stuff about the state of our hearts but I won’t give any more away! What she writes about being “pastorally minded” towards our children is really good too.

I laughed quite a bit while reading it, stopping to read portions to my husband because as she tells some of the crazy stuff her kids have done our daughter has done some of the exact same crazy stuff!

I finished the book in less than a week but it would be worth reading agin more slowly.

Have you read it? What did you think?

One thought on “A Quick Book Review: Loving The Little Years

Leave a Reply

