This Year’s Preschool at Home Plans

This week school started around here which has me making some updated preschool at home plans for E.

Last year I bought the printable e book from teaching mama.org that I used for her curriculum and blogged about some. I didn’t finish it for 2 reasons. One, I had a baby last year and the teaching mama curriculum takes a lot of prep work and requires a parent to be involved for 100% of the activities. I just didn’t have that much time to put into it with a new born. If you look under “preschool” on my list of categories you can see some of the stuff we did. It was a lot of fun but not feasible with multiple children IMO.

The second reason was she was only 2 last year and I feel most of the activities she just didn’t have the coordination, interest or attention span for. I feel it is better suited for a 3 or 4 year old. The teaching mama stuff also called for a lot of sensory bins which she would think was interesting for maybe 10 minutes but then would require ALOT of clean up.

Last year I also had turned our loft into a home school room. It was cute and cozy but totally impractical. Most the stuff we did was very messy and I needed to be near a sink to clean it up. Being 8 months pregnant climbing up and down the stairs 15 times to clean up paint was just not worth it. It was also so much better to just be at the kitchen table so I could unload the dishwasher while she did a sensory box etc. Now that I have a 9 month old I prefer to be at the kitchen table working with her so I can be feeding him at his high chair at the same time.

I still have our maps and ABC’s and felt boards and stuff upstairs but it’s more of a play room now. This year I’m doing more of a home school spot.

I moved a book case out of the master bedroom and put it on the dining room are. I purchased several preschool work books at the dollar store and stocked up on craft stuff and flash cards.

IMG_6273 IMG_6274 IMG_6272

My lesson planning is super simple and I’m only going to be planning one week in advance instead of trying to predict what life will look like for the next school year and trying to predict a 3 year old’s changing needs. Also, my husband works rotating shift work and every week is different and it’s hard for me to know in advance what our family schedule is going to look like.

Another thing I’m doing with my planning notebook is marking when the activity is completed and adding any activities we did in addition to the ones I had planned. That way at the end of the year I’ll have a record of what we did each week.

I wrote out my preschool goals for E and taped them up on the book case. I based my list off of different teacher requirements and suggestions floating around the internet. I am basing her lessons off these goals. Each day we’ll aim to do-

  1. some form of name practice each day- there are so many hands on and creative ways for a child to earn to spell their name!
  2. Reading and discussing a story from The Jesus Storybook Bible
  3. 1 page of each of her work books each day (shapes, letters, numbers)
  4. a math activity each day. Learning numbers and patterns, etc. Usually in a game or some hands on activity.
  5. plenty of crafts and just for fun reading which is part of our every day life anyways

I’m really into seasonal stuff so I’m sure we’ll be including plenty of field trips and science and history type stuff into our days based on the season. For preschool my main focus though is the 3 R’s. (Reading, Writing, Arithmetic.)

How has your homeschool evolved over time? What things have you changed and what things have really worked for you?

 

 

Leave a Reply

