Overcoming Discouragement

I’ve been really discouraged today. Without going into details, something happened this morning that I wasn’t expecting that left me really depressed all day.

I’ve tried to push through and get done everything that needed done the after getting back from a family trip, but it’s been hard to keep my mind on any task because this situation has really upset me.

This afternoon I said to my husband, “If I could only refocus my mind on the fact that Jesus is coming back soon this situation would seem small and wouldn’t have the ability to upset me.”

“Yep, that would be a good thing to think about.” he replied.

Sunday we meet with some friends of ours at their home church in St.Louis. We left so energized in our Christian walk after the men discussed verses reminding us that Jesus is coming back soon!

On the way home I commented to my husband, “When I think about Jesus coming back shortly all the trials in life seem so insignificant and easy to deal with in light of eternity.”

It was easy to say that while on the emotional high of fellowshipping with other believers but on Thursday morning when I faced a trial it wasn’t quite as easy to remember and have that same outlook.

Here are a few verses I’m going to meditate on this evening. I need reminded of an eternal perspective and God’s blessing on me if I handle this situation in a way that honors Him. Be of good cheer my friends! Jesus is coming for His bride!

John 16:33 These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.
1 Corinthians 15:52 – In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.

1 Peter 2:19 For this is thankworthy, if a man for conscience toward God endure grief, suffering wrongfully.

1 Peter 2:20
For what glory is it, if, when ye be buffeted for your faults, ye shall take it patiently? but if, when ye do well, and suffer for it, ye take it patiently, this is acceptable with God.

2 Corinthians 4:17-18

For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory; While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

 

Also remember to pray and cast your cares upon Jesus for He cares for you.

(photo of the Arkansas River taken from Petit Jean Mountain)

 

Leave a Reply

