Mother Choose Love

“Charity suffereth long, and is kind; charity envieth not; charity vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up, Doth not behave itself unseemly, seeketh not her own, is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil; Rejoiceth not in iniquity but rejoiceth in the truth; Beareth all things, believeth all things, endureth all things Charity never faileth..” 2 Cor. 13: 4-7a
When milk and oatmeal are dumped on the floor…. choose love. Would love get angry and criticize the child’s clumsiness or  take it personally if the child dumped it on purpose? No, love is kind and is not easily provoked.

When what feels like the ten millionth request for a sippy cup comes, how would love react? Love seeks not her own but chooses to serve others. Choose love.

Would love yell at a little kid for misbehaving? No. Love does not behave itself unseemly. How would love react? Choose love.

When the baby starts to cry after I have just fallen into bed exhausted to my core.. choose love. Love seeks not her own and endures all things.

How should I deal with feelings of jealousy and discontentment? Choose love. Love does not envy and thinks no evil.

Does love frown? No, love smiles as she rejoices in truth! Choose love!

When your work goes unnoticed and you get no applause from the world… choose love. Love vaunteth not itself. Love simply for the sake of the God of love and don’t look to be fulfilled by recognition from others.

When my thoughts say I can’t go on or I have nothing less to give.. I must choose love! For love never fails!

Ask yourself today Mother, what would love do?

“Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and every one that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God. He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.” 1 John 4:7-8
Dear God of love,

You are love. You manifested Yourself to us as love embodied.

You are Yahweh-mekoddishkem. The God Who Sanctifies.

I admit my weaknesses and my failures to you. I have no power of my own to choose love. I bow my heart before You and ask that You fill me with Your pure, holy love so that it can wash over onto my children and bless my husband and all those around me.

I pray that in my weakness Your grace will shine through and that You will strengthen me. In every moment of motherhood, through the joys and the challenges, remind me and empower me to choose love. Empower me to walk after the Spirit and not fulfill the lusts of the flesh. My flesh craves laziness and rest and self indulgence. Your Spirit is going to sanctify me and make me a hard working servant. Make me to follow Your example as You touched lepers and washed dirty feet.

Make me to know You so I can know and be filled with love.

I pray that my children will see the love I have for You and the love I have for them and that it will make them want to know You.

In the name of Jesus, love in the flesh, A-men

One thought on “Mother Choose Love

  1. Didn’t want to hear it…but I needed this. Very convicting. Thankful for your encouraging, Word-filled spirit, as always!

    Like

Leave a Reply

