Every Hour Is For Fellowship With The Lord

 

Over the next several weeks my husband is going to be working some crazy hours. When I was reading Psalm 42 I saw a few things that I need to remember during this time.

Verse 8 is a reminder of the Lord’s constant presence and love whatever hour of the day or night it may be.

During the day I need to continually remind myself, God loves me. God is kind towards me. When the hours stretch long and my spirits get down I need to remember that God is faithful and He still loves me then.

At night do I hear the Lord’s song with me? What is the Lord’s song? More lovingkindness I’m sure.

What ever hours we are keeping, the Lord needs to be the focus of those hours and the one I need to glorify and worship.

I need to use this upcoming trial to cling closer to God and to PRAY. Not think about praying, actually spend the days and the nights talking with and fellowshipping with Jesus. When I am lonely, It’s a perfect chance to commune with Him. When I am weak and overwhelmed I need to turn to Him for strength.

Psalm 42 is such a perfect outline for my own prayers.

Dear God,

You are my life giver, the air I breathe. You are my sustenance, I need You more than food or drink or air to breathe for You are life. Without You there is nothing. God, I’m longing for that beautiful blessed day when I shall see Your face and serve You with the other saints, in perfect peace. I live in anticipation when the trials of this life are remembered no more and I get to sing “Holy!” before you as You wipe every tear from my eye.

Comfort me as I strive to walk righteously before You on this earth. Jesus You know how I feel when my husband works hours like these. I thank You that he has a job and can provide so well for our family. Help me in my work as he is gone to raise our children, and to care for our home and to do it well. Strengthen me when the loneliness and mundaness of my work gets to me. Encourage me and remind me what an important job I am doing, raising souls for you.

I pray Your Holy Spirit will remind me continuously that You are here beside me even when I don’t feel you. Remind me of Hebrews that tells me about my faithful High Priest who remembers that I am but dust. Who pities me and knows my heart and has experienced trials as an overcomer. Make me an overcomer as You are.

Help me to remember to talk to myself about Your Word rather than listen to myself or the enemy. When I get discouraged may I hope in You. Remind me that there is help when I seek Your face. Teach me how to seek Your face.

Show me moments of the day where I can be pulling out Your Word and reminding myself of all that You have done.

You are my Rock when life is chaotic. You are the anchor for my soul and I will praise You.

In Jesus Name I pray, A-men

 

Psalm 42

42 As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.

2 My soul thirsteth for God, for the living God: when shall I come and appear before God?

3 My tears have been my meat day and night, while they continually say unto me, Where is thy God?

4 When I remember these things, I pour out my soul in me: for I had gone with the multitude, I went with them to the house of God, with the voice of joy and praise, with a multitude that kept holyday.

5 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted in me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him for the help of his countenance.

6 O my God, my soul is cast down within me: therefore will I remember thee from the land of Jordan, and of the Hermonites, from the hill Mizar.

7 Deep calleth unto deep at the noise of thy waterspouts: all thy waves and thy billows are gone over me.

8 Yet the Lord will command his lovingkindness in the day time, and in the night his song shall be with me, and my prayer unto the God of my life.

9 I will say unto God my rock, Why hast thou forgotten me? why go I mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

10 As with a sword in my bones, mine enemies reproach me; while they say daily unto me, Where is thy God?

11 Why art thou cast down, O my soul? and why art thou disquieted within me? hope thou in God: for I shall yet praise him, who is the health of my countenance, and my God.

One thought on “Every Hour Is For Fellowship With The Lord

  1. Yes! Encouraging post, Megan! Hebrews says to encourage each other daily, lest we be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin, so thank you for writing this transparently and reminding me to abide in Jesus. I will pray for you while Tanner is working those hours. Have been reading the beautiful tributes for Titus as well. Love y’all and praying for y’all. -April

    Like

Leave a Reply

