Philippians; Four Power Packed Chapters

IMG_3186

This week I’ve slowly read through the book of Philippians, taking the time to look up corresponding verses and praying about each thought. It’s one of my favorite books to turn to for a fast dose of encouragement in the Lord. It’s one of those books that as a mom if I only have time to read 4 or 5 verses, my soul is encouraged by a single thought contained in it that I can think about through out the day without loosing the intended context.

It was written by Paul while he was in prison for preaching the gospel around 62 A.D. He wrote it to the Philippians to express his love towards them and encourage them in their spiritual growth.

It is four chapters each packed with powerful truths and answers to life’s big questions and fears.

In chapter one Paul answers questions like, who am I in Christ? and what is the purpose of my suffering?

In chapter two we are taught about the humanity of Christ and what it looks like to have a personal relationship with God.

Chapter three tells us some of the benefits of following Christ. It also exhorts Christ’s followers in their work of furthering the gospel.

In chapter four there is a variety of topics reminding us to trust God, rejoice in the Lord, to walk and talk with God and to be full of thanksgiving and praise towards Him.

Here are a few of my favorite verses from each chapter to encourage you this morning:

Chapter 1: 20-21

1 According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all

boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death.

2 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

Chapter 2: 2-10

4 Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.

5 Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:

7 But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:

8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

9 Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name:

10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;

Chapter 3: 7-10

7 But what things were gain to me, those I counted loss for Christ.

8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

9 And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith:

10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;

Chapter 4: 4-8

4 Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.

5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand.

6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

 

Leave a Reply

